

2025 SECTION-WIDE CONFERENCE SATURDAY, JANUARY 25, 2025, 10:00am – 1:00pm University of Mount Saint Vincent, Riverdale, NY

Registration is free for this In-Person Event! Click here to register

PRELIMINARY PROGRAM

09:30 AM Continental breakfast will be available.

10:00 AM ACS, NEW YORK SECTION COMMITTEE PLANNING SESSIONS FOR 2024.

Educational Activities: Chair: Dr. Alison Hyslop

Chemagination, Chemists Celebrate Earth Day, Continuing Education, High School Olympiad, National Chemistry Week, Nichols

Foundation Teacher Award, Project Seed, Student Membership, Student Recognition

Member Affairs: Chair: Dr. Joseph Serafin

ACS Fellows, Awards, Employment and Professional Relations, History of the New York Section, Indicator, Membership,

Outstanding Service Award, Minority Affairs

Program Review: Chair: Dr. Anne O'Brien; Frank Romano, Councilor, presiding

Subsection and Topical Discussion Group Chairs

Public Affairs: Chair: Dr. Robert Nolan

Academe and Industrial Relations, Environmental Chemistry, Fund Raising, Government Affairs, Information Technology, Public

Relations, Speakers Bureau

10:40 AM GREETINGS FROM THE ACS NEW YORK SECTION 2025 CHAIR Dr. Eric Chang

Pace University

10:45 AM GREETINGS FROM THE UNIVERSITY PRESIDENT Dr. Susan Burns

University of Mount Saint Vincent

10:50 AM REPORTS FROM THE CHAIRS OF THE COMMITTEE PLANNING SESSIONS

11:00 AM AWARD PRESENTATIONS

Service Plaque and Pin to the 2024 ACS New York Section Chair

Dr. Ping Furlan
US Merchant Marine Academy

CON VIG COM LOCAL DE DE LA L

ACS New York Section Outstanding Service Award

Dr. Pamela Kerrigan
University of Mount Saint Vincent

Outstanding Chemistry Faculty Teaching Award Division:

Dr. Marvin Parasram

Four-Year University with Graduate School New York University

Outstanding Chemistry Faculty Teaching Award Division:

Four-Year Undergraduate College and University

Dr. Robert Topper
The Cooper Union

Outstanding Chemistry Faculty Teaching Award Division: Two-Year College

Dr. Jihyun (Ji) Kim
Guttman Community College-CUNY

Outstanding Full-Time Lecturer and Instructional Faculty Teaching Award Dr. Sesha Alluri

Stevens Institute of Technology

Outstanding Adjunct (Part-Time) Teaching Award

Dr. Ronald D'Amelia

Hofstra University

Nichols Foundation High School Chemistry Teacher Award

Ms. Maria Zeitlin
Smithtown High School East

Recognize NYACS Senior Chemists (50, 60, & 70 year members)

Presented by Frank Romano

11:35 AM PRESENTATION OF CANDIDATES FOR THE 2025 ELECTIONS Mr. Joseph Wiener

PepsiCo

2025 Chair Elect ACS NY Section

11:40 AM PROJECT SEED Presentations by New York Section Project SEED Students Ms. Nadia Makar, STEM Supervisor

Jose Marti Stem Academy

Dr. Raychelle Burks American University

1:00 PM CONCLUSION OF THE MEETING.

KEYNOTE LECTURE:

12:00 PM